Dogs Not Eating, What Do I Do?!

Guest nic1709

Guest nic1709

Hello all,

I'm new to greyhound owning! I've had my lovely hounds for almost 2 months now. When we first got them, getting them to eat was a bit of a chore and I put it down to nerves- being in a new place and not being used to us. Then after a few weeks they were guzzling anything and everything we gave them. Now, they seem to be on hunger strike! It started this week, turning their noses up to the kibble that they loved last week. I've changed the kibble thinking that maybe they were bored of it. That worked on the first night, but no such luck since then.

I feed the dogs twice a day. Once at 6am and once at 6pm. Around 1ish they get 'treat time', where they are given either a raw hide bone, filled kong or doggie biscuits or other such things to eat. They love treat time! They were eating (up till recently) 2 weetabix cereal blocks and 2 slices of brown bread with milk and water for breakfast. They had worms recently, and when I told the vet about breakfast, he said just to give them dog food. So now they get 2 half pint glasses of kibble and half a tin of dog meat on top with water added to the kibble. In the evening they get the same amount of kibble with water but with either tuna or sardines in oil. They have no problem eating the dog meat or the fish, but the kibble gets left every time. We've now got 3 different bags of kibble in the cupboard- ranging from expensive to supermarket own but nothing takes their fancy. This is turning out to be an expensive eating disorder!!