Trying To Walk A Stone Statue :(

Guest DMBFiredancer

Guest DMBFiredancer

I'm new to all of this and was just wondering if I could please get some help on the issue of walking.

I've had a lot of trouble getting Grace to go on walks.I have finally been able to get Grace up out of bed to go outside to the yard for bathroom breaks a few times a day without having to pick her up. I do this by taking her ID collar and gently leading her to the back door with a "Let's Go" She's great when she knows she is just going in the yard and has never had an accident in the house :)

But, going for a walk away from the house is another story.

When I am ready to take her for a walk she gets stressed. I started putting her martingale/leash on by the door (instead of while she is in her safe bed) and she won't even take treats before we leave as a reward for putting martingale/leash on. Once we get outside, she has started to become a stone statue right by the gate to go out.

I have been able to get her out the gate by pulling on her leash and calmly saying, "Let's go" but I have to be honest with you....I feel TERRIBLE for pulling her. Once I get her outside the gate she starts to walk with me.

I am a total walker. LOVE going on walks! This may be selfish of me, but it is discouraging for me right now that she does not enjoy going on walks.

I'd love to ideally walk her 3x a day - in the morning before work, when I get home from work, then a short walk at night before bed to try to tire her out a tiny bit.

Right now I have only been walking her twice a day - morning and evening because 3x seems like it would be too stressful.

Morning walks go much more smoothly than evening walks. My guess is that there is just too much activity at night - more people/kids out, more noises, etc and it freaks her out. Many times I just cut the night walk short because I see her getting stressed.

My questions.....

At what point do you "give in" to your dog just NOT wanting to do something?