How Long Before Adjustment Period Before I Start Obedience?

Guest Shontel

Guest Shontel

OK, so I adopted first grey about 2 weeks ago. My sweet, shy retired 3 year old racer Pancho. He was in a loving foster home for 6 weeks when I got him. He is adjusting well to his new surroundings and my other two dogs (a Norwich Terrier and a Australian Cow Dog) My question is for you experienced owners out there is when should I start obedience training. Both my other dogs are well trained but I've also raised them from puppies....I see now what greys are different from other breeds...but I know he needs obedience, and eventually, I would love to make him a therapy dog...he has so many of the qualities I see already in him. Would appreciate any and all info, personal stories or advice. Thanks to all! This board is so awesome!!!

Thanks,

Shontel

Guest Clawsandpaws

Are you training at home or in a class?

I started training right away, and I felt like it helped me bond with my dog (assuming you do positive reinforcement only, which you should be doing). If you are doing it in a class, then I would wait and try some training at home until you get to know your dogs' personality more. Just remember that greys are independent thinkers. Lol, he may not be as easily trained as your other pups. That being said, my grey was very easy to train, BUT I had to do frequent, short sessions in order to keep him on track. He is very food motivated so that helped a lot.

I used Jennifer's blog http://neversaynevergreyhounds.blogspot.com/ to help me with training techniques!