Guest badderh

Guest badderh

Pretty easy question here (or at least I'm hoping :P), just trying to prepare myself for when I call my pup's vet on Monday to confirm his appointment for vaccinations and screenings.

This is my first time getting a round of vaccinations/screenings for him, he is getting his rabies vaccination, DHLPP vaccination, an annual heartworm test, and a heartworm prevention and intestinal worms screening done.

I've been told by other grey owners that my vet is expensive, but no one has really been able to give me a comparison that shows me otherwise.

Can anyone give me a ball park range of how much this should cost and break it down for me?

At my vet which was on the North Shore of Massachusetts that visit would have been around the 150$ range. This is a pretty expensive area of the country in general.

CollageSnap

<p>Finn, Wink, Birdie, Snap and SmokeyJG Quicknfast 7/25/99-5/16/08, JG Quickwink 7/25/99-9/22/13, Iruska SweetDuv 7/19/03-11/9/16, Delbar 6/11/11 and Catahoula Smokey

don't know about in the US but in Australia all vets seem pretty pricey to me

costs a lot more to take animal to vet than for me to see my doctor for just a consult

generally $30 per shot, looking at the bill right now-bortadella was $32. i don't check for heartworm since my dogs are on a preventative all year long and i skip a fecal check unless there are signs of worms- the heart worm preventative takes care of that. make sure get get parvo vaccine!

the only time i get a check for heart worm is if we are trying to uncover a medical mystery and there is a possibility of hw(tests have ALWAYS been negative- that stuff really works)

Edited by cleptogrey

Annie Bella had her annual in April with shots. Costs were:

Office visit w/annual physical exam: $47.50

Canine 4DX test: $49.00

Bordetella (annual): $25.00

DP2PP Vaccination (3 years): $28.00

Rabies Vaccination (3 years): $25.50

That totals about $176, give or take (I added it in my head).