Harness Vs Collar

Tracker is leash reactive. I walk him with a collar. I've read a few times on this forum about success overcoming the reactivity by switching to a harness, since the pressure on the throat when pulling towards another dog releases adrenalin, and a harness won't do that. I tried that, and it sure didn't work. However, I tried it only once. Is there a possibility of this taking a while to "sink in", because his body/brain has become habituated to the adrenalin release? Not sure whether I have the biology of this right. But anyways--should I use the harness for, say, a week in a row to give it a chance?

Guest MnMDogs

I'm by no means an expert, but it's not as simple as changing from harness to collar or vice versa to train away the leash reactivity. We have a very leash reactive girl (Macy May) and we were using a harness on her - which we learned only made her stronger! It was mentioned many times on here (KenneMom and Batmom come to mind) that the harness really maximizes their pulling power - and it sure does, so we went back to a collar.

What we didn't do was incorporate training with this and we've been living with her leash reactivity for years now, and it's only getting worse. We finally met with a trainer today and now I have a much better understanding of why she reacts the way she does (insecurity around non-greys, I'm not making her feel secure, subsequent adrenaline rush... etc). So until you can work on that, changing from one to another will likely not mitigate the underlying reason for his reactivity.

I suppose I didn't provide any answers... but I'm not a trainer and I'm trying to learn myself how best to manage Macy May and make her feel secure and safe when we walk.