New Member--Old Fur-Mom..

Guest debi_s

Hi,

I would say my grey is having trouble learning to "sit"--however, I realize that it is MY problem TEACHING the command.

I am a previous greyhound mom, Lori, lived 13 1/2 years and was the love of our home!!! After losing her to cancer it took us another 5 years to build up the courage to do it again and adopted Flame from Greyhound Friends of NC in Feb 2011.

2 days after welcoming her into our home my father died and life has been a bit upside down until now. I have enrolled Flame in Obedience classes (with the intention of getting her pet therapy certified) -- (I am a Hospice Nurse). First class did not go well---- :headwall

Question: How can I better teach the "sit" command AND (**!!!**) is there possibly a training class/instructor close to my area (Gaffney, SC-Upstate SC) that is more 'in tune' with greyhounds???

Thanks in advance for all the help and advice I KNOW you will have for me!!! :bow2

I don't have any advice. Even after attending obedience school, Treasure never learned how to sit. I think it's a good thing for them to know and fun to learn...if they learn :lol

siggy_robinw_tbqslg.jpg
Xavi the galgo and Peter the cat. Missing Iker the galgo ?-Feb.9/19, Treasure (USS Treasure) April 12/01-May 6/13, Phoenix (Hallo Top Son) Dec.14/99-June 4/11 and Loca (Reko Swahili) Oct.9/95 - June 1/09, Allen the boss cat, died late November, 2021, age 19.

I'll be the first to ask... just curious... why does she have to learn sit?

Thanks for asking !!!! Because the lady that is the "expert" insists that she cannot certify the dog unless she follows the "sit" command.

Guest IndyHound