Do Neutered Male Greyhounds Mount?

Guest emma

Hi,

I'm new to greyhound world. I don't want to sound silly, but I had only a female dog before (english cockerspaniel), so I have little experience with males and not at all with male greyhounds. My hubby's parents have a small dog and he mounts all the time and I hate it. Do male greyhounds do that? And does it make a difference that they are neutered?

Thanks

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My neutered grey mounted dogs all the time. :lol So does one of my females dry.gif.

gallery_12867_3348_20333.jpg
~Beth, with a crazy mixed crew of misfits.
~ Forever and Always missing and loving Steak, Carmen, Ivy, Isis, and Madi.
Don't cry because it's ended, Smile because it happened.
Before you judge me, try to keep an open mind, not everyone likes your taste.

Guest Wasserbuffel

There is one male at playgroup who seems absolutely infatuated with Jayne. He tries to mount her, but none of the other dogs.

My sister had a neutered female Rat Terrier who had a pillow that she got amorous with on occasion. I also used to own a pair of sister ducks who mounted each other all the time. So, it's not just a greyhound, male or even just a dog thing.

I have had a female greyhound and a male greyhound (both now at the rainbow bridge) and neither ever mounted anything. I currently have a beautiful male greyhound(for 4 months now)and he has never tried mounting either. We were in a situation recently where a little terrier tried to mount him! He looked at the terrier with a "Like, really????".

It looks like from the posts, some do mount, but I haven't seen it happen.

Oh and do you correct them? Or it's natural and should not be corrected? Cause the thing which concerns me more is that if they try it on people or things. Cause that's what the dog of my hubby's parents does!!!

It's a "natural" thing but yes, I correct it just by saying no.