A Beginning.

Guest irrationalrat

Guest irrationalrat

Hello there,

I just joined the forum and thought it would be good to have an "introduction" post to start things off. I'm a first year veterinary student in Davis, CA and I'm VERY interested in adopting an ex-racer next academic year (i.e. this August). Being the scientist that I am (and a generally reasonable person), I wanted to make sure to get all my research done before making a final commitment. I'm here to read first hand accounts of greyhound ownership— the good, the bad, and the ugly. I figure if I know all the cons to grey ownership and am still chomping at the bit to adopt one, then it will be a good match.

I'm also here to hopefully gain some insight with regards to my own lifestyle and whether I can provide the home that an ex-racer deserves. The dog needs to be right for me and I need to be right for the dog!

Thanks for taking the time to read this and I look forward to gaining some valuable information from this forum. :)

Cheers!

Guest IrskasMom

Welcome to GT :wave :wave :wave I enjoyed reading your Post and it all makes Sense. You just wandered into the wonderful World of Greyhounds and trust me, we are slightly obsessed .We love to have you here.

Guest PhillyPups

:wave Hi, welcome to GT.

I entered the world of greyhounds as a lifelong dog owner, with blind faith in dogs. :lol

I only have good to tell you about the breed. The bad is that their lifespan is never long enough. And after years of involvement with greyhounds, and meeting probably thousands of greyhounds, I am still looking to find an "ugly" greyhound. :lol

That is my good, bad and the ugly on greyhounds. :P

One way to find out if you like the breed is to volunteer with a group, or at a local greyhound kennel, I don't know of any group that would not welcome another volunteer. You will see how wonderful they are.