Afraid Of The Furnace.

Guest tmm

Let me say I am new to message boards; this is my first post. I just had a community question I feel others may have some experience with. We've had our girl (Maisy) for about a year and a half now (our first greyhound, and right now our only dog). She lived with us in the apartment last winter, and our furnace wasn't noticeably audible; so we had no troubles. This August, my wife and I bought our first house, so we are now expecting cooler weather in the area. We recently had our furnace inspected and tuned up, so we've started running it. Trouble is, the furnace is in the basement, and when it starts to turn on, our girl notices! I wouldn't say it was loud, but it is more noticeable than our apartment. The low humming and firing up of the burner gets her quite concerned; so much so that she runs for the doors and starts shaking in anxiety. She'll settle down a little bit, but I can tell she is still anxious. I try not to reinforce this nervous behavior. I'll stay calm and if she finally does lay down, then I will give her encouragement (thinking she has submitted to her fear). But it seems she is still bothered by it every time it comes back on. So this is an ongoing cycle. The encouraging aspect is it is still early in the process; the furnace has only been running in our house for the past few days. Am I off-line in any of my though process? Are there any suggestions? We've been fortunate and haven't had to deal with a lot of anxiety issues from her before, but I am open to suggestions.

Thanks in advance! We love being new to the greyhound community!