No Hair On Bum...

Guest SweetFinish

Guest SweetFinish

I just want to say first that I am a newbie and I am so very thankful to have come across such an awesome forum. Its been so very informative. So... My girlfriend and I recently adopted two ex-racers. Both females. A fawn who we have named Nefertari and a brindle who we have named Angie. I was wondering if the hair on their rumps will grow back? My brindle girl has hardly any on the right side. Could this be because they were in a kennel most of the day at the track? It certainly doesn't make me love her any less but I want to be able to help if I can. Thank you so much!!

Guest Wasserbuffel

Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't.

I got one who came with a nice furry butt then went pretty near bald within a couple months. In her case, she was just blowing her track coat and it all grew back in - if a bit thinner than it had been. I'm sure others will post with more thorough and experienced information.

It has nothing to do with track life. No one know exactly what causes it. All of mine came straight from the track and some are bald and some aren't. Most of mine eventually grew hair but I still have a few that are just now groing hair after 7 years with me.

Judy, mom to Darth Vader, Bandita, And Angel

Forever in our hearts, DeeYoGee, Dani, Emmy, Andy, Heart, Saint, Valentino, Arrow, Gee, Bebe, Jilly Bean, Bullitt, Pistol, Junior, Sammie, Joey, Gizmo, Do Bee

Guest DoofBert

The 'shiney hieny'might be improved now that they are in a their forever homes with a consistent diet. You might consider adding 1000 mg fish oil (ideally salmon oil) to their diet. I know the oil has sprouted what my hubby calls 'bum fluff'on our Bert.... so much so that he did not qualify for the shiney hieny contest at our groups annual picnic!!

BTW -- if really bald-- you might also want to consider sunscreen for the bald patches.....

Welcome!