Greetings From Houston, Tx

Guest katethegreyt

Guest katethegreyt

Hello all. This is my first time posting, so I thought I'd make use of the Introductions forum = )

After years of wanting a dog, I finally have the time and money, so I'm going to get one! I thought I had my heart set on a rescued doberman (I lived with them for awhile and found them to be a lovely breed), but my apartment complex does not allow them (they get lumped in with pits, rotties, and GSDs).

Recently, I've met several absolutely stunning and loving greyhounds, and I thought, hmm... So I've been researching them endlessly since the thought popped into my head, and I believe I've found the perfect breed for me! I'm so excited that I've been spouting facts to all of my friends and endlessly sending my fiance adoption photos (he's 100% on board and very excited as well). I've checked out all the greyhound books at the library, read all the online articles I can find, and will be buying some books for my own greyhound library once I bring mine home. (Wow - I sound like a 12 year old girl here, haha.)

I have two cats, pet rats, and a horse - so I'm working on my menagerie I guess (though the horse thankfully does not live in the house with the rest of us, haha). I love that the greyhound adoption groups check for cat compatibility. My place is not large, and I have no stomach for a puppy at this point - plus I like to adopt older animals, since they sometimes don't get the same love as the cute youngsters. I think the greyhound has so many perfect traits for me - and let me just tell you how secretly excited I am that they have to wear clothes = ) "No no, I'm not one of those people who thinks her dogs are little people - they actually need clothes, I'm just being a responsible owner." Haha.