Clicker Training

I've been trying to clicker train Tracker for almost a week now. I'm new to this, as is he. It's pretty clear to him that click means treat now. But what I haven't gotten across yet is that it's HIM and his behavior who holds the key to the cookie jar. I put a shoe box in front of him to get him to offer behaviors, and he'll poke it with his nose for a bit (and gets c/t'd every time), and then just looks at me and/or lies down (more comfy) and looks at me some more for many seconds, while the box is right next to him. And boy, does he loose interest fast if the treats don't come flying, and even then (I use hot dog pieces, which he loves) he'll quickly run out of steam (i.e. ideas). And that's all he ever offers. It seems to me that I need come up with something that works with his way of thinking at this point to help him get over the hump. Any suggestions as to what I can do with the only behavior on offer, which is pushing things with his nose? Any particular objects/set ups you used to get a somewhat "creatively challenged" hound to get it? I cannot believe he's the slow one; it must be the lack of experience on my part. It would seem to me that each breed would also have their specific strengths and abilities in the way they learn, which is why I posted here first. But just in case, does anybody know of a good clicker training forum online?

When he lies down, you can click and treat too.

Are you wanting him to offer the same behavior, over and over again?

My dogs will stand there and look at me too. Sometimes, you just have to wait it out and give them a chance to make their next move. It's really interesting to see the wheels turning in their heads though. Like they know they are supposed to do something, but what?

Make sure the treats are very tiny pieces so you dog will keep wanting more. You might want to switch to something else really good too.