Just When I Thought We Were Ok

Guest 4rooers

Guest 4rooers

I really thought we were ok. Rippa's tests were all clear and I thought all was well. We had our local Greyhound Planet Day last Sat. Rippa and Rourke came, Rippa even got a blessing from Pastor Tony. :angel She started limping on Monday and I thought maybe she had compensated from the surgery on her back leg for the growth removal. I palpated and did range of motion with no sign of pain( I'm a physical therapist assistant). Thursday morning she was still limping, so my son took her to the vet for tests. I got the call at noon. My vet said when she touched her shoulder, Rippa screamed. :cry1 They did x-rays and there is a lesion on the proximal humerus. Dr. Hickman was almost as upset as I was. Rippa is my first greyhound, the one who opened the door for the others. I plan on keeping her comfortable as long as she seems happy, then letting her go to join my sweet Ozzie. :angelwings My concern is that she didn't show any pain for me, but she did for the vet. Any advice on what to watch for and anything that might make her more comfortable will be most appreciated. I can't imagine coming home without her to greet me.

Kim

Guest greytfulhounds

I am so very sorry to hear this. :cry1 I lost my Danny last Thursday to osteo.....I HATE this disease! :angryfire

Has the vet given you something for pain control?

If I can do anything at all to help you, please ask. You may want to check out the osteo thread too......everyone there was wonderful to me as I went through this last month with Danny.

Sending prayers & hugs to you & Rippa. :grouphug:hope

Guest 4rooers

I am so very sorry to hear this. :cry1 I lost my Danny last Thursday to osteo.....I HATE this disease! :angryfire

If I can do anything at all to help you, please ask. You may want to check out the osteo thread too......everyone there was wonderful to me as I went through this last month with Danny.