Another Sleep Thread

Guest manders4

Guest manders4

So we've had Daisy for maybe six weeks now. When we first brought her home, she was content to sleep until about 6:15. I'm a teacher and my husband is an early riser anyway, so that was just fine for us. However, after about the first week, she started getting us up at five for a walk. We moved back her dinner from 5 to 6 and started giving her a longer walk around 8:30. But she still wakes us up at five. She has even been waking up at 4:30 most days, but we tell her to go back to sleep. She does and then get us up at five with more urgency.

She has never had an accident in the house and does not bug us about her other walks. Right now, dinner is at 6:30 and she gets cut off from water at 8. Is there anything else we can do? We don't have a backyard, so when she needs to go out, we need to go out as well. It wouldn't be so bad, but we live in a neighborhood with a lot of college students. On weekends, they wake us up in the middle of the night a lot. It is really hard to get up at five after being awake in the middle of the night!

Thanks so much. We're just so tired!

Guest IrskasMom

Congrats on Daisy :confetti:confetti:confetti Personally to cut her of from Water is not a good thing. Mine has Water all the time. Then the last Walk at 8:30 PM is to early to think she can hold it till 6 AM. Her last Walk should be at 10 PM and she would be able to hold it for that long .

Guest manders4

Yeah, I wasn't sure about the water. I usually forgot to take it away anyway...

The problem with walking at 10 is that if we wake up at five, we're too tired by then! But we will give it a try! Thanks so much. :colgate

Guest Jubilee251

You could also try setting an alarm at the time she wakes up at now. Then gradually, move it back a minute, two minutes, five minutes...