I'm New Here!

Guest reneemarie

Guest reneemarie

I just signed up a few days ago, and I thought I'd introduce myself! My name's Renee, I live near Baltimore, MD, and I'm getting my very first grey this coming month. I couldn't be more excited! When I was a kid, I told my dad I was going to grow up and have a ranch and raise "the dogs that look like mummies", so my love of greys has always been there!

My fiance and I have been researching greyhounds for the past 6 months, extensively. We want to know as MUCH as possible before getting one, just so we aren't caught with our pants down. He isn't a dog lover, by any means. However, he loves my little girl, Isobelle, a beagle/pointer mix. She's 6 years old, and I got her when she was 6 weeks old as the runt of a litter of puppies that had been abandoned in my town behind a strip mall. She was so sick, was infested with fleas, had worms coming out of her mouth and rear, and couldn't stand for more than a few seconds. I attempted to bring her with me when I moved out of my parents' home a year ago, however, the transition between 4.5 acres in the country where she comes and goes as she pleases to a rowhome with a small, fenced in yard just seemed to depress her, so I go visit her at least 3 times a week, and sometimes she comes for sleepovers. She's a very emotional, sensitive dog, and took instantly to our family dog, Lucky. My mother found Lucky on a back road when he was around 8 weeks old, and we found out later he was also the runt of a litter of pups at the local "pound" (it was really the town dump/landfill, and there were a few kennels in the basement, and almost always the dogs were euthanized. It was a horrible place.) I guess somehow he squeezed out of the kennel, because when my mother spoke with the gentleman there, he recognized Lucky, but said his mother and litter had been put to sleep (hence why we named him Lucky)