Raw To Kibble Switch (Instinct Food)

Guest taylorsmom

Guest taylorsmom

Hello!

I have been raw-feeding my two greyhounds and one little IG for about 4 years now. In October we are going away for almost 2 weeks and leaving them with a pet sitter, and also travelling with the dogs (to Dewey of course!). For this reason, I have started to transition them to kibble to make it easier at that time. My dogs have done mostly well on raw--occasional diarrhea when fed too much of one thing or another, etc. But it is a lot of work for me, and I have played on and off with the idea of getting them on a high quality kibble and feeding them turkey necks once a week for their teeth. I thought that if they managed this little trial for the travelling in October, I would just keep them on the kibble.

So I started feeding Instinct, Rabbit Meal formula. I like that it has a "raw coating" (whatever that is--probably just good marketing to people like me who feel guilty about giving up raw feeding!) but I particularly like that it is No-Grain and seems to have pretty high quality ingredients.

I stopped the raw and have fed the Instinct for one full day now, with no add-ins (didn't want to complicate things). Taylor, one of my greyhounds (who frequently has some soft/diarrhea even on raw), and Buster my IG have both had very soft poops. Rita, my greyhound who always has great poops no matter what, had a great poop this morning.

What I am wondering about is:

--how long should I try the food before I can tell if they are tolerating it well? In other words, I expect some soft poops initially, but how long before one should expect them to firm up?

--Have others had good experience with Instinct? Should I try other types of protein varieties in the Instinct line before switching to another food entirely if the Rabbit meal formula isn't well-tolerated?

Thanks so much for any help!!

Nancy

Edited by taylorsmom