Maintaining Alpha

Guest Travelover

Guest Travelover

I'm still a newbie. I adopted our girl 9 months ago and she just passed her 4th birthday. A few behavior changes have me somewhat concerned and I'd like a reading from the larger group.

In general she has been a perfect dog, almost too good to be true, so maybe I'm overly cautious.

Recent changes:

On a walk in the park she picked up a crushed beer can and when I told her "no" and went to take it away, she tried to elude me and actually growled when I took it from her mouth. I grabbed her collar and gave her a sharp rebuke. In the past I have been able to take anything from her mouth with no resistance. I brush her teeth every day and clip her nails with no reluctance at all- so I think she trusts me.

On walks recently she will just lay down and is hesitant to continue. I thought it was the heat initially, but she will do this now on a short walk when it is not even very hot out. It seems like a struggle for dominance.

She has been acting territorial in the corner of our yard that has another dog on the other side of the fence. She barks, growls and rips branches off shrubs and shakes her head in a menacing way.

So my question is whether these are serious signs that I should address or within the normal range of behavior that others have experienced. I will add that although she is spayed, she has a sliver of ovary remaining.

Thanks in advance.

Guest ChasesMum

you could try teaching 'drop it' or 'dont touch' rather than 'no'

the beer can could have been a game of keepaway, maybe try allowing it with a stuffie and trading up for a treat when its dropped? often rewarding the right behavior works better than punishing a wrong one.

they do go thru levels of personality over the first year especially, and do act out and push buttons like kids do. I'm sure you will get lots of advice...

you could try teaching 'drop it' or 'dont touch' rather than 'no'