Maintaining Muscle

Guest Travelover

Guest Travelover

I've been told that after a racer is adopted, their muscle will slowly atrophy. What I haven't heard is how fast this happens and what effect exercising has on the rate of muscle atrophy. Our girl left the track one year ago and we have had her for 6 months. She gets walked from two to three miles a day and runs a few times at the dog park every week. Compared to other greys she still seems muscular. What has been your experience?

I'm not an expert, but I don't think atrophy is the right word. Many do lose some muscle mass, but I think it depends on the hound, the diet and the exercise. I've had my hound for a year and a half and he happens to be more muscular than the foster I've had less than a week.

You got me on that one. Never thought about it, never was told about it and never had a problem with it (probably because I never knew it was something I needed to worry about). My boys as well as my two girls that never raced always had big muscular legs years after racing...or not racing. If your girl gets walked 2-3 miles a day you are Wayyy ahead of the average greyhound owner in terms of exercise.

gallery_8149_3261_283.jpg

I've had George for three years, and he has LSS, and he's still very muscular! One of the best things we can do for our hounds is keep them lean and muscular. The muscle tone helps with joint support, and being lean--well, that should be obvious! Those skinny legs aren't designed to carry extra weight. I keep him fit with long walks.

Hamish-siggy1.jpg

Susan,  Hamish,  Mister Bigglesworth and Nikita Stanislav. Missing Ming, George, and Buck

With regular exercise the loss of muscle mass should be minimal.

Judy, mom to Darth Vader, Bandita, And Angel

Forever in our hearts, DeeYoGee, Dani, Emmy, Andy, Heart, Saint, Valentino, Arrow, Gee, Bebe, Jilly Bean, Bullitt, Pistol, Junior, Sammie, Joey, Gizmo, Do Bee