Diatomaceous Earth

Guest TeddysMom

I have been doing some research on DE and have decided that I am going to put my crew on it. I have to worm out here in the country every 2 months per vet's orders because of the wildlife. If the DE cuts that down, I will be very happy plus I have already put it on the dog bedding. I just have to get to the health food store on Monday and get some more.

Just make sure you get the organic human grade stuff. I add it to the girls food every few months. And dose for 3 weeks straight. Worms really freak me out so it can't hurt :-) does not work on heartworm so keep doing the monthly dose of that.

Edited by jgeiger2006

------

Jessica

Guest sorenkkg

How interesting! I didn't know this existed, but I have heard (again, recently) that MANY more humans have intestinal worms than know they do blink.gif

So I think this is a great idea!

I have a lot of experience with it in the garden, works great under pots sitting right on the patio, where *shudder* earwigs congregate and other creepy crawlies... so why not inside?

Hmmm... I'm going to look into this, thanks!

Food-grade diatomaceous earth can be used as bedding for raising worms, so I really doubt that it's going to do anything useful when subjected to hydrochloric acid in the dog's stomach and mixed with all the other things the dog eats.

If your dog has worms, please treat with Nemex, Panacur, Drontal, etc. as appropriate.

Star aka Starz Ovation (Ronco x Oneco Maggie*, litter #48538), Coco aka Low Key (Kiowa Mon Manny x Party Hardy, litter # 59881), and mom in Illinois