Separation Anxiety

Guest surfersmurf

Guest surfersmurf

My fiance and I are new to greyhounds and adopted our first recently....she came home with us last wednesday....so far all is well....i guess i am just beginning to read some of these posts about seperation anxiety and getting a little nervous...I did not realize that it could end up being so serious and destructive....so far she has not shown any signs...she sleeps in her crate at night without whining or crying and we have left a few times for a few hours at a time and everything has been fine but i do realize that it is very early in this process and that seperation anxiety can develop...Is SA really that prominent with greyhounds...she is our only pet and i guess it just has me a little concerned...it seems like more greyhounds have SA than dont....anyone have any input? Thanks

Guest FrostyBottoms

I wouldn't think it would start now. My first one didn't have SA, my second does or did. I always put them in the crate when i leave, he used to cry and scream, but he doesn't anymore.

If she doesn't cry when she sleeps in her crate, you may be home free!

Welcome to GT!

Guest AmberGusDad

I suspect that if the SA doesn't manifest by now, it won't.

My Gus showed SA as soon as I got him. Since driving from NE PA to Houston several years ago to get him, we have been inseparable :(

Ah - you have fallen victim to the "new owner on greytalk reading training threads and FREAKING OUT!" Been there. Done that. Kept staring at Enza waiting for her to eat me in my sleep.

I liken it to having a cold and going on to WebMD and being convinced you have ebola virus.

So take a deep breath - and you will be fine.

Guest D_MansMommy