Hello From Star And Dani!

Guest dfriedri

Guest dfriedri

I am very new to GreyTalk...like today! But it has already been an huge resource of support and information.

My lady Star was diagnosed today with either Osteosarcoma or Hemangiosarcoma and I turned to GT because I really wasn't sure about the next step. After talking to some of the great ladies on here I am going to consult with Dr. Couto and hopefully get some good news for my very young Star.

Star was adopted exactly a year ago from the Nebraska Humane Society. She was supposed to be a nursing home dog. I was the administrator and we were wanting to fill a void for our residents after the facility cat had to be put down because of leukemia. It took me 3 months but I finally got the corporation convinced to let me get a dog. The humane society suggested a greyhound because they are so docile and gentle.

It was a little struggle at first. Linoleum floors, big windows, lots of people! They all scared her a little but she came out of her shell fairly quickly. Unfortunatly one of her paws was run over by a wheelchair after only a few weeks and this made her extremely wary of wheelchairs and walkers. Over the next few months we worked very hard with overcoming this fear and did manage pretty well.

Another thing became very apparent over time. She was quickly becoming a one-person dog; mine! She slept in my office and I walked her 80% of the time. When I would leave for the day, she would wander around and mourn my leaving. When I left for vacation, she peed all over the facility and was very depressed. I loved her but lived in a rental house and could in now way make her "my dog".