Chemo Deferred Because Of Low White Cell Count

Guest angel

Dash's chemo was deferred from Wednesday to next Monday because of low white cell count. The vet said this is completely normal and not to worry - but I am worried.

Does this happen often?

Also a thorough orthopedic examination was done on his hind right leg and they said that it is completely normal. (He appears to rotate his leg outward and hop and skip when he runs).

I am exhausted from all the worry.

It is comforting to know, however, that there are many of us who are going through this tribulation together, and can give each other support.

Guest Energy11

I have no experience with chemo, but, normally a greyhound's white cell count is lower than regular dogs. I guess it depends on HOW low it is. Might want to drop an email to Dr. Couto and staff, and see what he/they think? couto.1@osu.edu (Dr Couto)

Greyhound@cvm.osu.edu (Drs. Marin and Vilar)

Guest mcsheltie

It happens frequently. Twice for me personally, or I should say for animals I cared for. Chemo can temporarily suppress the bone marrow and they space the treatments out to give it time to catch up.

Happens all the time.

I'm never sure when Cali will be getting her chemo, even on the day of.

I drop her off in the morning, they do a blood check and no news is good news!

Nothing to worry about, just wait a few days and it should be good.

Vicky and my best boys Vern (Rockin Big Mike) and Wil (Deco Abilene Wil).

Missing my best girl Cali (BOC's Kaylynn) at the Bridge.

Thanks everyone for your replies. I can't help but worry about my little guy. I hope his white count will be high enough on Monday so we can continue to blast those evil metastases.

Bluesky - you're from Ottawa! I live in Burlington and am fortunate to live close to OVC in Guelph.

Where does Cali get her chemo in your area?

We get Cali's chemo from a very nice vet clinic on the other side of the city from where we live! It's a 45 min drive, but totally worth it!