My Senior Boy Is Limping

Guest MyBoys

My almost 11 year old boy began limping this morning on the way home from our walk, it was not exactly a limp but an obvious change in his gait. I felt different spots on him with no reaction, then I checked his feet and pads and found a corn on his pad. None of my greys over the years have ever had a corn so I am new to the treatment of them. Can someone suggest the best way and the least painful way to handle this problem. THANKS!!!!!!!!

Guest Energy11

Staggerlee always has corns. He has a big one on his left hind pad. Some people Dremel them, some "hull" them, and some have oinements, etc. to soften. For me, I Dremel Staggerlee's, and he wears booties when he walks.

Good Luck. I am sure the others will have tons of ideas, too!

You can take him to the vet and the vet can hull it for you. If you can watch the vet you can learn how to do it yourself so you won't have to go back when it grows back again.

Judy, mom to Darth Vader, Bandita, And Angel

Forever in our hearts, DeeYoGee, Dani, Emmy, Andy, Heart, Saint, Valentino, Arrow, Gee, Bebe, Jilly Bean, Bullitt, Pistol, Junior, Sammie, Joey, Gizmo, Do Bee

Guest greyarea

Molly recently developed a corn. Like with your boy, I first noted a change in her gait. She seemed to be putting her left foot down a little flatter than the right. Then it progressed into a mild limp, and finally she balked at just about any activity - which was sad, because Molly is a high-energy, fun-loving dog. I found some good threads on "corns" on GreyTalk and some discussions on how to hull the corns. Take a look at this link:

http://www.grassmere-animal-hospital.com/corn_hulling.htm