Acupuncture, Yourself Or Your Hound

Guest Annie

Guest Annie

We are still looking for ways to help Canyon with his torn disc at C5/6. I have no personal experience with acupuncture and have a few questions:

Did you find it to be helpful? How?

Was the procedure disturbing/frightening/painful for your pup? (Canyon is terribly sensitive).

What condition was it used for?

Was it effective for pain management?

Does it reduce inflammation?

Thank you for your input! :colgate

Guest fatesrelease

Well, I don't have my grey, yet...but I've had acupuncture before and I LOVED it. If it was covered by my insurance I'd have it all the time.

Did you find it to be helpful? How?: Yes, I did because it relaxed me completely. It really took a lot of stress away.

Was the procedure disturbing/frightening/painful for your pup? (Canyon is terribly sensitive).: It wasn't stressful, but then again I don't mind needles.

What condition was it used for?: I just did it to become less stressed.

Was it effective for pain management?: Yes! I felt like I was walking on clouds afterwards.

Does it reduce inflammation?: Yes! I had problems with swelling due to hives and stuff and it went away!

Guest boondog
We are still looking for ways to help Canyon with his torn disc at C5/6. I have no personal experience with acupuncture and have a few questions:

Did you find it to be helpful? How?

Absolutely. I was a total skeptic, but it has done wonders for Dillon.

Was the procedure disturbing/frightening/painful for your pup? (Canyon is terribly sensitive).

Dillon is about as sensitive as it gets. She has to be carried in to the regular vet's office. She willingly goes in to the acupuncturist's office. By the end of the session she is lying down and almost dozing off. Believe me, that is miraculous.

Spinal arthritis that appears to be concentrated around C6-7

She does not require any pain meds at all. Dilly is a bit dramatic, so I would know if she's in pain.