I Sooo Want A Greyhound

Guest nursenoonoo

Guest nursenoonoo

HI everyone,

New to the site but enjoying reading all your stories and tips.

I have a problem. I am a major dog lover (greyhounds in particular) and have rarely been without a dog in my life. Problem is I am married to a man who is not and is anti me ever having a faithful companion around.

I am a nurse with four children, taking a career break. I am soon to return to work but only for two shifts a week (as want time with my kids) so have loads of time on my hands. We live in rural Lincolnshire which offers great long walks for me and my doggy companion. I have been in touch with our local Greyhound rescue who agree we could provide a loving home but my husband wont budge!

Am I being unreasonable in my request? Should I give up on it? He said I could maybe have one when my youngest starts Primary school bot thats four years away and I feel strongly about rescuing an ex-racing dog (you know what it is like right?). Years is a long time when I feel ready now.

Any advice would be lovely as I am currently dishing out lots of silent treatment to the man!!! :lol

Melanie

Guest TaniandMalachy

Programme his Ipod with subliminal messages ("You LOVE greyhounds", "There's something missing in your life..oh, that's right, it's a greyhound" etc) and play them to him while he's sleeping? :dunno

Sorry...that's not very helpful, is it? :rolleyes:

Welcome to Greytalk, anyway :):welcome

Guest KsFrets

Can you get him to the kennel? Maybe a greyhound will charm him?

Has he given you a reason why? I'm a husband that didn't want a dog untill my wife and I retired. I love dogs and grew up with them, but we both worked the same shift, and any hound we got would have been alone close to 10 hours a day.

If you can get him to the kennel, when a dog picks you, really turn on the charm with the dog. I'm serious. When I see how happy Magnus makes my wife, it just melts me inside, and I wouldn't have it any other way.