Need Your Help/suggestions

Guest lotsogreysmom

Guest lotsogreysmom

Ok, before I start......OMG, I hope I never relive that again!!!! I have never seen a dog seize before and it was, by far, the scariest thing I have ever endured!!! I had posted a while back about our grey, Dallas, that had something weird going on with his head.....his head is shrinking....or indented. This was almost a year ago and nothing had changed since, it hasn't gotten worse or anything. Our vet is aware and he has been seen by him and our vet informed us there's not really anything that can be done to correct it. Anyway, he woke us up tonight having a very violent seizure. Called our vet and he said it was a grand mal seizure. I have no experience with this at all so any advice you can give me or suggestions would be appreciated. Is it pretty guaranteed that this is due to the head shrinking or what other things cause seizures? I know there was so others on here that the head shrinking happened to their dog....did your dog start to seize too? Please help!

There are many many reasons for seizures. None of us here are qualified to tell you that his seizure last night was due to his head shrinking (well, 99.9% of us - and the vets here would need more history).

What does your vet think.

You know what a dog seizure is now, so if he does have another, it won't be nearly as scary to you.

Personally, I wouldn't worry about it unless he has another seizure.

I do remember there was someone on here whose dog had the head shrinking thing, but I don't think it was a greyhound. I just wanted to mention that sometimes other dogs will try to attack when one dog is seizing, so it might be worth looking into separation of this greyhound from the others when no one is there :grouphug

gallery_2175_3047_5054.jpg

Michelle...forever missing her girls, Holly 5/22/99-9/13/10 and Bailey 8/1/93-7/11/05

Religion is the smile on a dog...Edie Brickell

Wag more, bark less :-)