New Here And To Greyhounds!

Guest teachckg

Guest teachckg

So... my husband and I are thinking of adopting a greyhound. I have always thought they were beautiful and I used to have an Italian Greyhound. I am in the process of researching the whole idea. We are thinking June-- I am a teacher and this will give me plenty of time at home for the transition period. I do have to questions though.

My husband is allergic to dogs. I have read Greyhounds have low dander and he is on medication, but I do not want him to be miserable. Has anyone dealt with someone with allergies?

The second question is... If we do adopt we would fence in our yard. Does is need to be a certain height? We are thinking a standard size fence. My thoughts are they could easily jump it?

Thanks in advance,

Courtney

I am allergic to dogs and have 4 greyhounds now, but everyone's allergies are different.

I had lived with a labrador as a child despite allergies and felt sure I could do it again, especially with the help of modern allergy meds. I "allergy tested" myself on a neighborhood hound and found my lips and eyes did not swell as they did when I petted other dogs and then rubbed my face. I spent 3 hours at a greyhound shelter without any allergy meds to see what would happen. Not much, a few sneezes. so I think there may be something to greyhounds being a little easier on allergies.

We adopted Dr. Doug 5 years ago. My hands and arms broke out in rashes for the first 2 months, and then the rashes stopped. At first I attempted to keep Dr.Doug out of the bedroom. That lasted about 1 day. Then I tried to keep him out of our bed--I think that lasted about 4 days. After 2 months, my rashes were gone. I stopped requiring more than my usual seasonal allergy meds. And we adopted 3 more hounds.