Let's Call It What It Is Instead Of "hotspot"!

Guest Dinabird

Guest Dinabird

I think it would be good if we began a new tradition of naming things what they are. Like just saying skin infection or fungus instead of "hotspot" I think it would make it easier to get clear information and medical suggestions if we were clear. I imagine the term hotspot started years ago when people were more squeamish about such things but this is 2007! I am new to Greyhounds, well it has been about a year now since Kay came to live with me and it took me quite a while to figure out what a "hotspot" might be because there are many conditions that fall under that category.

Veterinary sites seem to use the term Pyoderma and there are many different types all requiring different treatment. I think it would be helpful if, like gardeners, we began to try and use specific terms when we talk about medical stuff - what do you think?

Dinabird

I think this forum is very good about helping people identify what their dog's problem might be. In many cases, the original poster might not know what to call it or their vet might not be able to put a precise name on the problem right away.

Very often when people post here, they're looking for additional information or education. I don't think we're a squeamish bunch, but you until you know the right term, you can't use it. That's why posting pictures is so helpful.

gallery_7491_3326_2049.jpg

Deirdre with Conor (Daring Pocobueno), Keeva (Kiowa Mimi Mona), & kittehs Gemma & robthomas.

Our beloved angels Faolin & Liath, & kittehs Mona & Caesar. Remembering Bobby, Doc McCoy, & Chip McGrath.

"He feeds you, pets you, adores you, collects your poop in a bag. There's only one explanation: you are a hairy little god." Nick Galifinakis