Hi, I'm Amber And I Have A Grehound Addiction

Guest SoulsMom

Guest SoulsMom

Originally from Oklahoma, I've moved to Texas, Oregon, Connecticut, and have finally settled in a haunted house in MA. I'm not sure how I became interested in the retired racers. I picked up a card for a group when I was living in CT. Then I moved to MA, and a month after I got here I googled and sent an em to GH Friends. I went the next Sat to help with a meet and greet and the rest is history. I've been doing the M&G's for almost two years. I didn't have a hound of my own, and wasn't ready yet, so I brought dogs from the kennel each weekend to the events. I LOVED doing this. In March of 2006 my Mom passed away (far too soon and I will never get over the loss). With my Mom gone, I realized I could never move back to Oklahoma, and I took my inhiertance and bought a wonderful old home in Worcester. I had been living in my new home for a month, when Sandy told me to bring Soul for the M&G. I was working it alone this time, and Soul was very patient while I tried to haul him and the supplies into Petco. He had just been returned from a home due to SA. He was so skinny, 65lbs on a very long and tall boy. Well, I had been considering fostering, so when then kennel was full and I had to take Soul home for the night, I just decided he would be my first foster. I wanted to foster for awhile, because I know how important it is. Little did I know what a weenie I was, and I failed within two weeks. Yes, I'm a foster flunkie. I took all of the precautions for his SA, but he has not shown an iota of it since he arrived here. I like to think that perhaps my Mom is keeping him company. Now Soul is a wonderful, happy, 82lb greyhound and a beloved member of our family. I don't think we pick our hounds, they pick us!

edited to add-I recently joined greytalk b/c of the lost hound, Pharaoh. another all nighter planned for tonight, wish us luck!

Edited by SoulsMom

Guest bowiebears

Welcome!