Hi, I'm A Newbie Here!

Guest Ayla

A Big hello to everyone. I am in the process of adipting a retired racer. I live in Fredericksburg Va and am going through Blue Ridge Greyhound Adoptions. I have interviewed and went to a meet and greet today. All of the dogs at the meet and greet were with their people/owners. I brought my 11 year old Collie mix to the meet and greet to see how she would do with a greyhound. She did beautifully. I will be having a home visit on Thursday.

I'd love to know what the interviewers are looking for when coming to my apartment. Size? They joked that they need to find out if I'm running a meth lab out of my place.

I don't know what kind/color/age of girl I will be getting. If I am able to get one. I would love any dog they pick for me.

This group has no fosters for me to meet right now and a dog will have to be driven up from Gold Coast.

I hope to meet people from the Fredericksburg area to have play dates with, (someday soon I hope).

Generally how long does the adoption process take?

I've been lurking on this site for a while and just love it here!

Wish me LUCK!!

Edited by Ayla

I wrote this big, long reply then my computer said "this page can not be displayed" AHHHH!

Anyway, we live in Charlottesville with our two hounds. We got Racey Gracey last fall after we had moved here from SC. The group we used was Central Virginia Greyhounds. They've been great and we've been pretty active with the group. (Website is www.cvgreys.org, but they are in the process of re-doing it) BTW, we are starting a walking club in the area if you are interested.