I Just Want To Talk About Fudgie

DianeFG

When I went to go adopt, I was a total greyhound novice. I went to the track instead of through an adoption group. So it was baptism by fire really. I had no literature, no support group, nothing... it was just "Here are your dogs.... have a nice life together."

I went to the track, and I said to the guy "I would like to adopt a little, fawn female".... how many times do you think that guy had heard those words :rolleyes:

He must have sized me up in a nano-second because he said "Sure, but I have a male I'd like you to look at first". I said ok, but was thinking to myself "No way! I want a small, fawn female."

He brings Goods out to the turn out pen..... an awesomely handsome white/red boy. Goods just walked over to me so calmly. He just looked up into my face and leaned into my leg. I was just in love so quick!! He was so gentle!! Who needs a small, fawn female anyway. I said to the guy "Oh, I love him!! I want to adopt Goods!!" He said, "Well, Goods has a littermate that he's really attached to. I won't separate them." I turned to my DH and he said, "It's up to you". So the kennel guy goes trotting off to get Fudgie..... I'm sure he was chuckling to himself the whole way.

Next thing I know, I hear the thunder of paws tearing down the wooden floor!! Fudgie comes blasting into the turnout pen!! I mean he was like a hurricane!! He came running right up to me and jumped on me with both paws on my shoulders!!! I almost fainted on the spot!!! The guy pulled Fudgie off me and just laughed. I said "No, I can't adopt him, he's just too crazy for me to handle". The guy says "It's both or nothing....." and just let that hang out there for me to digest. I must have just looked so desperate, because DH comes out with "Fudgie will be my dog." I was so relieved!! So, that was that! It was a deal. Goods was my dog and Fudgie was DH's dog :)

Well, once we got home, it only took about 10 minute before Fudgie was MY dog :)