It seems to me that 'pinch collars' are basically the same as 'prong collars' - is that correct? If not, what is the difference?

I find the whole concept of using pain as a training tool bewildering and disturbing, but it seems there are still trainers around promoting the use of these things, even for greyhounds. I have no experience of either pinch collars or prong collars (other than the one time someone came into the vet where I worked with their dog in a prong collar and were taken aside by the senior vet and given a talking to), so tell me; is there a difference and would you call a pinch collar acceptable?

I personally have quite strong views on the matter, but it is possible that the 'pinch collar' is kinder. :dunno

What do GT's trainers say?

GTAvatar-2015_zpsb0oqcimj.jpg

The plural of anecdote is not data

Brambleberry Greyhounds My Etsy Shop

Same thing.

I have known people who use them in training. Long ago I thought they could be useful for some dogs. Now I think they're stupid. It's simpler, cheaper, and more effective over the long term to plant your dang feet if the dog hasn't yet learned not to pull. I'll stop there :lol .

Star aka Starz Ovation (Ronco x Oneco Maggie*, litter #48538), Coco aka Low Key (Kiowa Mon Manny x Party Hardy, litter # 59881), and mom in Illinois
We miss Reko Batman (Trouper Zeke x Marque Louisiana), 11/15/95-6/29/06, Rocco the thistledown whippet, 04/29/93-10/14/08, Reko Zema (Mo Kick x Reko Princess), 8/16/98-4/18/10, the most beautiful girl in the whole USA, my good egg Joseph aka Won by a Nose (Oneco Cufflink x Buy Back), 09/22/2003-03/01/2013, and our gentle sweet Gidget (Digitizer, Dodgem by Design x Sobe Mulberry), 1/29/2006-11/22/2014, gone much too soon. Never forgetting CJC's Buckshot, 1/2/07-10/25/10.

Good grief. That is exactly what you would NOT want to use it for! Way to make the dog even more reluctant to move, or even get bitten!