Chattering Teeth

Guest creedsmom

Guest creedsmom

Creed is 10 yrs old. He gets dental cleanings yearly (awake cleanings-he is not put under and he is given a shot to keep him calm and I'm there to make him feel secure during the procedure) and I do brush his teeth most of the time. Recently his teeth have been chattering for no apparent reason. He isn't cold, he eats just fine but then I do notice that his teeth are chattering away at different times during the day. The chattering lasts just a minutes or two and then it might not happen again til the next day or two. I'm not sure if this is anything I should be worrying about or if all greyhounds do this. I would appreciate any thoughts you might have on this situation. thanks.

Guest benspop

I'm no expert in greyhounds (only had mine 5 months now) but he does this too. It seems to be a sign of excitement. He'll chatter a little (or his muzzle will twitch or vibrate) when he's excited about food, about seeing me, when he sees another dog he wants to greet and interact with, etc. I met another greyhound owner walking him and they said their dog does the same thing. I don't think it's anything to worry about. Seems to be a cute little sign of nervous excitement. I think.

:welcome

We have a chatterer too - Bumper! He turned 5 Saturday and has just started chattering when he gets excited. I wondered the same thing - cold? No. Dreaming? Maybe. Pent up energy that he doesn't know what to do with? Probably. Unless you are seeing other signs, hopefully there is nothing to worry about. Someone here has likely faced the same question with a senior.

Doe's Bruciebaby Doe's Bumper

Derek

Follow my Ironman journeys and life with dogs, cats and busy kids: A long road